About the Competition

John and Susie Beatty have underwritten the Beatty Music Scholarship Competition to celebrate and encourage young musicians in the Washington metropolitan area.  The classical guitar is the featured instrument class, acknowledging 100 years of strong support for this instrument in the Washington, DC area.  

In 1993, the International Conservatory of Music began the John E. Marlow Guitar Series, which brings leading international classical, jazz and flamenco guitarists to Washington, DC to perform recitals, teach classes, and give lectures, and in 2007 ICM added the Beatty Competition among its list of community programs. 

For 2017, the competition will be held March 10th-13th at Catholic University in Washington, DC, and will be judged over three days to determine scholarship winners in each of three age groups: Youth (up to 12 years old), junior (13-15 years old), and senior (16-18 years old) in addition to the grand prize and the special composer’s prize.

Application to the competition is free and all performances are open to the public with free admission.
Prior Programs

In 2008, the Centro Cultural de la República Cabildo of Paraguay sponsored the $1,000 composer’s prize for the best performance of an Augustin Barrios (1885 – 1944, Paraguayan composer) composition.  

In 2009, the music of Venezuelan composer Antonio Lauro (1917 – 1986) was celebrated with sponsorship from Embassy of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.  

In 2010, the Beatty Competition highlighted the music of Brazilian composer Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887 – 1959) through the generous donation of the composer’s prize by the Embassy of Brazil.  

In 2011, the Embassy of Mexico and the Mexican Cultural Institute sponsored the composer prize in honor of Mexican composer Manuel Ponce (1882-1948).  

In 2012, the Beatty Competition honored the music of Spanish composer Fernando Sor (1778-1839) and the International Conservatory of Music sponsored the Composer Prize.  

In 2013, the Composer Prize was dedicated to the music of Italian composer Mauro Giuliani (1781-1829).

In 2014, the music of Spanish composer Francisco Tarrega (1852-1909) was celebrated by the Beatty Competition Composer Prize.

In 2015, the Beatty Competition honored the group of 16th century composers known as the Vihuelists: Luis Milán (Spain, 1500-1561), Alonso Mudarra (Spain, 1510-1580), Luis De Narváez (Spain, 1500-1555), Miguel de Fuenllana (Spain, 1500-1579), Estevan Daza (aka Estevan Daça, Spain, 1537 – between 1591 & 1596), Enríquez de Valderrábano (Spain, 1500-1557), Diego Pisador (Spain, 1509-1557), and Francesco da Milano (Italy, 1497-1543).
In 2016, the Composer’s Prize exposed our contestants to the beautiful music of Argentinian composer Julio Salvador Sagreras (1879-1942). 

For 2017 the Beatty Competition is dedicating the Composer Prize to the music of French Composer Napoleon Coste (1805 – 1883). 

The DC Scottish Rite has generously supported the $1,000 Composer’s Prize since 2013 – we are deeply appreciative of their continued commitment to honoring the legacy of these great composers

* * * * * * *

* * * * * * *

In 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012, the Millennium Stage of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts has featured the winners of the Beatty Competition in a recital.  These performances are available for viewing on the Kennedy Center’s website here. 


About    Winners    Videos    Bios    Press    Downloads